Squatty Potty Whoopsie

If you’ve ever been to Asia, you know the squatty potty is a popular thing here.  Most public places use these instead of western toilets.  Parks, train stations, stores, and public schools.  When Nick and I first arrived in Taiwan, I was scared of the squatty potty.  I mean, there’s nothing worse than the fear that you will pee on yourself in the middle of a work day and go through the rest of the day smelling like pee.  For a long time I would hold it all day and withstand the weird looks from people as I did what we fondly call “The Potty Dance,” or walk all the way to the other side of the school to use the handicapped toilet  just so I didn’t have to face my fears. (I fondly refer to this cross-school walk as the walk of shame: I just feel like everyone knows what I’m about to do).  Well, ladies and gents, I finally faced my fears, and I have to say I’m mastering this squatty potty, but it’s not without it’s occasional fiascoes, like what happened last week.

potty

The famed Squatty Potty…

After class, I decided to use the restroom (squatty potties btw, give you no rest).  And, just fyi, I still have to psych myself up in order to work up the courage to use the feared potties.  So anyways, I go to the bathroom and do my business, and the thought crosses across my mind, “man, it would be awful if my flash drive falls into the toilet.”  And, as they say, those were my famous last words.  As I get up from my squat (cuz that’s what you have to do with a squatty potty),  my flash drive slips out of my pocket and falls into the toilet.  Yep.  It happened.  It seemed to be in slow motion and if my mind had just processed it fast enough, I would have been able to catch it, but no such luck.

So then my next dilemma: do I flush it and walk away, or do I get it out?  I finally decided that I really need it because all my lessons for the week were on there (I now back them up on my computer weekly).  I worked up the courage to fish it out.  It was gross.  I vigorously washed it and my hands multiple times, scrubbed it down with hand sanitizer, (cuz that stuff works, right?) and dried out all the nooks and crannies.  ANNNNDDD it still worked!!!  Yep, that’s right folks, my poor little flash drive fell into the toilet, and lived to tell the tale!

Moral of the story, don’t take your flash drive to the potty.  Moral #2, back up your flash drive.  Moral #3- flash drives are more hardy then we may think (this particular flash drive also took a turn in the washing machine earlier in the year).

usb

Captain America saves the day again!

Categories: Fun Stuff, Humor, Taiwan | Tags: , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Squatty Potty Whoopsie

  1. Cross-cultural education takes many strange twists and turns, doesn’t it? You are SUCH the world adventurer now, I am in daily awe of you two! (BTW, what is Nick’s opinion of the squatty potty? We never hear…)

  2. Patty Broadway

    Gross and disgusting, yet cool and entertaining. ((What great lengths a teacher will go to when faced with the desperation of writing (in this case, re-writing) lesson plans!!! Am I right, people?! Yeah!)) Were you tempted to run Mr. Flashdrive through the washing machine again?

  3. I almost cried once realizing there were no Western style toilet in a school I will be working at for a year, 😀

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

