Perfection?

Perfection.  We all aim for it.  We all miss it.  We all get upset every time.  Why do we put so much pressure on ourselves?  We’re not perfect, we’ve known that since Adam and Eve, yet every time we miss that mark we ask ourselves why.  Now I’m not here to point out the flaws of the human race or get into some deep theological shenanigans, but I just want to say, you don’t have to be perfect.

God doesn’t expect it.  He doesn’t judge us on how well we climb the corporate ladder, or how well behaved our kids are, or if we remember all our students names all of the time (this is a BIG problem of mine).  He loves us whether we succeed every time or fall flat on our faces over and over again.  So why do we put our self worth on those silly human things?  Lately many of my friends have been telling me how stressed they feel.  How they put so much pressure on themselves to be perfect, and it’s a wreaks havoc on their self esteem.  This is no way to live people!  Let’s put our self worth in God!  We should be filled with joy!  We should be enjoying the lives that God gave us!  So let’s make mistakes.  Let’s miss the perfection mark.  Let’s take some pressure off of ourselves and rely on God!

Psalm 121:1-2  I lift up my eyes to the mountains—where does my help come from? My help comes from the LORD,  the Maker of heaven and earth.

1 Peter 5:7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

We’ll fail sometimes, and that’s okay because our God loves us the same yesterday, today, and forever!  He’s always right there, to help us up, to encourage us, to forgive us.  So, when your best laid plans fail, don’t despair.  Turn to God, get filled up again, be refreshed, and remember next time, remember, you don’t have to be perfect.  Try your best.  Ask God for help.  Put your trust in Him, not yourself.  I promise you, you’ll feel better.  You’ll feel calm.  You’ll feel happy, joyful even!  It’s a great feeling!!!

Psalm 16:8  I keep my eyes always on the LORD.  With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

Psalm 34:8  Taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.

Isaiah 41:13  For I am the LORD your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.

Categories: Faith, FYI | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Perfection?

  1. Gina

    Thanks for your lovely words. So true!

  2. Belva Bowers

    Thank you I needed this!

  3. Jennifer

    Sometimes I need to be reminded of these words from God. Olivia, you always seem to say the right things at the right time. May God continue to bless you and fill you with his wisdom.

  4. Auntie Sherry

    I guess you are your fathers daughter too. Preach it girl!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

