A struggle overcome

Do you ever think that you’re just not good enough?  I do.

For years I have struggled with the issue of not being good enough for God.  Let me clarify, I know that God loves me despite anything I can do, it’s not that I think I’m not good enough for God to love, I struggle with whether or not I’m good enough for God to use.  I have spent so much of my life trying to improve myself, which in and of itself is not a bad thing, but when I do that for selfish reasons, like hoping God will love me more or that people will think I’ve got everything figured out, it is a bad thing.  I have constantly looked at what others are doing and have tried to emulate them, thinking that if I could just do that, I will be good enough.  Unsurprisingly, that has not helped my struggle.

Recently, Christ has been working on my heart, constantly reminding me that with Him, I am enough.  God can use anybody in order to do His will.  He did use a donkey after all.  I don’t have to work to improve myself; He is already doing that in His own way.  Every struggle that I overcome, every Bible verse that I read, every prayer that I say is God shaping me to be the person He will use.  How foolish of me to think that I can do His Kingdom’s work on my own!

Today I read 1 Corinthains 2:1-5-

“And so it was with me, brothers and sisters. When I came to you, I did not come with eloquence or human wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God.For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. I came to you in weakness with great fear and trembling. My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power,so that your faith might not rest on human wisdom, but on God’s power.”

This spoke to me in powerful ways!  Paul, one of the greatest evangelists of all time, wrote this, and here he admits that he came in weakness and that he knew nothing other than the fact that Christ is our Savior!  This brought me renewed hope and peace, that I am perfect the way I am.  I do not need to be some great Bible scholar or “super christian” in order for God to use me to bring people into His love, all I need is the knowledge of who God is and what He has done for us, God will do the rest.  This, ladies and gents, is a load lifted from my shoulders.  I hope it helps you as it helped me.

It’s just a thought
-Liv

Categories: Faith, Friendship | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A struggle overcome

  1. Rachel Gabler

    Thanks for sharing!!!

  2. Gert DeKruyf

    Amen and Amen, Olivia!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

