Am I lazy, or just busy?

Nick brought it to my attention lately that I have not posted anything on the blog for like 2 weeks or so.  This realization made me groan because that means that I have so much that I need to catch everyone up on.  I know I have said this many-a-time, but I will hopefully get you all up to date on what’s been going on in our lives here in Penghu.  Here is a quick list.

1. Both Nick’s and my parents have come and gone.
2. We have been taking Chinese lessons (sorta).
3. We just started a small English speaking Bible study at our house on Thursday nights 🙂
4. I went to another island to teach on Friday.
5. We got an iPad!
6. Our friendships here have been growing! Yay!
7. I’m making some artwork for our house. (We’ve gotten tired of the bare walls).
8. We got observed for the first time last week and both did really well!
9. I went scootering in the rain.* (I know it’s not a real word).
10. Today is our 100th day of teaching in Taiwan.

Image

As you can see, we have a lot to talk about, so hopefully you will see a new post from us every couple of days.  Also, here are some upcoming events!

1. Thanksgiving (this will be our first Thanksgiving flyin solo, so find out how we decide to spend it.  Remember we’re fly-by-the-seat-of-our-pants kinda people, so we have no plans yet.)
2. We get observed by the ministry of education on Thanksgiving Day.
3. We are going to be watching a friend’s dog for a couple weeks in December.
4. My birthday is only a month away! (Well less now :))
5. We will spend our first Christmas alone, and working!
6. We have been invited to a friend’s wedding on December 29th, we are excited to see that!)
7.  New Year’s Eve in Taipei!
8. Soon I will attempt to make bread.
9. Next week we will give a presentation about life in the US.  Leave comments with anything you think we should share.
10. Over our winter break we plan on making a trip to Tokyo, Japan!

So there you have it.  A short post getting you up to date.  Tomorrow I will try to post again, but no guarantees. 🙂

Here’s a short thought and video to leave you with.  Most places here in Taiwan have squatty pottys as the main toilet option.  This is a totally foreign concept to us, and frankly, I’m afraid to use them simply because I don’t want to pee all over my clothes.  I haven’t quite gotten the process down in my head and I don’t want to risk it.  After wasting some time on the internet at http://www.iwastesomuchtime.com Nick found an interesting video about how squatty pottys are actually better for your body than our western toilet.  Who knew?!  If you don’t believe me, you can check out the site devoted to the squatty potty revolution here. Watch the video and your whole world will be turned upside down!

-Liv

Categories: Family, Travel | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

